An Honest Planner’s Review of Pen’s Vol. 1 Paper Mate Flair

Everywhere I look there is new pen sweeping the planner community, from felt tips, ball points brush Pens and everything in between. Lets talk about pens and review the ones Ive gotten recently, this will be a series

Paper Mate Flair .7 Felt Tip

The Paper mate Flair Pen bost a ” Won’t Bleed Through Paper” guarantee on the front of the box, and with a wide variety of colors, this particular pen set is a fan favorite. The Set I bought to review I purchased at Target. First Things off the bat, you have to appreciate a pen that comes in 32 different colors and two tip sizes. The box of the 32-pack acts as a convent storage box, so there is no need to have another pen bag or storage solution. When you get into the 32 pack you are greeted by 32 different colors across three of their colorway sets; Standard, Tropical, and Candy Pop.

The Pens themselves feature a reinforced point and are smear and fade-resistant ink, a color-coordinating plastic barrel, and a metal pen clip on the cap. The ink is highly pigmented, the black is true to color and not grey, and the yellow is visible on paper with the red also being true to color and not orange/pinkish. Though in my set I did find two dead pens from opening the box the Green and the Marigold were dried out and the Marigold had some sort of pigment build up on the tip of the pen that stained my fingers for the next day. I did reach out to customer service and will update this review once I have gone through that process.

I used a Midori Grid Notebook for my swatch test, this particular note book has Toma River Paper. In the Swatch test’s I noticed some bleeding/ fuzzing out while writing, so keep this in mind if you prefer crisp lines

Pros:

The Pigment on all colors except for the two previously mentioned pens was great, the brights were super bright even the yellow, while the black was a true black and not blue, brown, or grey. They are easily covered by a whiteout and write over a patch of white-out easily and relatively smoothly. They Have at least 32 colors that you can choose from to color code or coordinate your planner or journal spreads.

Minimal ghosting on the backs of pages

They held true to their no-bleed claim there is minimal “ghosting” on the back side of my page. This is a pen that I would recommend for my lefty’s out there as long as you are not writing over white-out they do not smudge, much.

Cons:

I personally got two dead pens out of a brand-new box.

The Green and Marigold dead out of the box

If you have to go over the area with a color more than once it will streak and potentially mess up the paper there are some colors that are very similar ( i.e Guava & Papaya).

In the Swatch test I noticed some bleeding/ fuzzing out while writing, so keep this in mind if you prefer crisp lines. They smudge a bit when writing on whiteout if you do not let it dry.

Things To Keep In Mind:

At $31.99 this is not the most cost-conscious set of pens out there, I do think for the level of pigmentation and amount of use you can get out of these pens that it is worth the cost.  Once I have completed my customer service experience I will update this review.

Overall

I think these pens are a good value, with their multiple colors and tip sizes long life and sturdy construction. They hold true to their “wont bleed through paper” claim. The suffer the downfall of every felt tip pen, in that if you go over an area multiple times the color will get streaky and have pigment variations I would approve these pens as lefty friendly, as they do not streak unless you are writing over white out. Over all I think these pens are a planer must.

Another swatch sheet

Follow Me For More Awesome Content


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started